This is the Lord's doing; it is marvelous &c

A

Anonymous

HI, I'm new to the latin forum. I'm a law student in Glasgow but I'm actully looking for the latin for the phrase 'This is the Lord's doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.' It was apparently said by Elizabeth I in latin. I've no problem finding the quote in English, but can't find the latin and would like to include it in a card that I'm sending to a friend. Its also a biblical quote.

Could anyone please help with the latin.

Many thanks! :D

Akela

sum

• Princeps Senatus

Welcome to the forum :hi: I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Still, I have to insist that your translation request be made in the English to Latin translation forum.

A

Anonymous

Akela dixit:
Welcome to the forum :hi: I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Still, I have to insist that your translation request be made in the English to Latin translation forum.
Well thats not much of a welcome!
This is where I was sent when I logged in- maybe you should make it a bit clearer. For instance- the link you have provided takes me to a page for Latin to English. As you rightly pointed out I'm looking for English to Latin so what help is that?!

Iynx

Consularis

• Consularis

Don't know about Elizabeth (being a good Catholic boy myself). But sounds like you're looking for Psalms cxviii: 23, which in the KJV (after Bess's time, of course) is rendered "This is the Lord's doing; it is marvelous in our eyes".

The Vulgate has A Domino factum est istud: et est mirabile in oculis nostris.

Welcome, and peace be with you.

SaepePecca

Iynx dixit:
But sounds like you're looking for Psalms cxviii: 23
In my copy it is 117:23 not 118:23, not sure if that was a typo or if it's just different texts. (and it is indeed a domino as you'd expect)

Iynx

Consularis

• Consularis